shopping_cart
Ohio University Press · Swallow Press · www.ohioswallow.com

Black Box
Poems

By Frank X Walker

“The work of Frank X Walker is an eclectic, powerful mixture of liberating style, profound insight, and unwavering organic connection to the intellectual, political, and cultural struggles of a people. He stands in the tradition of DuBois, McKay, Robeson, and Hughes.”

Ricky L. Jones, author of Black Haze: Violence, Sacrifice, and Manhood in Black Greek-Letter Fraternities

“The spirit of a child runs through the poetry of Frank X Walker’s Black Box. A young, rural black boy recalls his parents, grandparents, and ancestors who originally settled the land, built the rock walls and dug in the coal mines. Close-to-the-bone poetry. A poet for all generations.”

Mary Popham, Louisville Courier-Journal

A powerful collection from Frank X Walker, winner of the 2005 Lannan Literary Fellowship for Poetry.

In 68 poems, Kentucky writer Frank X Walker expertly melds autobiography, political commentary, and literary allusions into a devastatingly beautiful journey through the real “Affrilachia”— a word Walker created to render visible the lives of the African-Americans who call the rural and Appalachian South home. Written with passion, clarity, and emotional honesty, the poems in Black Box illuminate profound experiences at the intersection of race, love, social justice, family, identity and place.

Frank X Walker is a native of Danville, Kentucky, and associate professor of English at the University of Kentucky. He was appointed Kentucky Poet Laureate, 2013–2014 by Governor Steve Beshear. A founding member of the Affrilachian Poets, he created the word “Affrilachia” to help make visible the black experience in the Appalachian South. He is the author of five poetry collections: Affrilachia, Buffalo Dance: The Journey of York, Black Box: Poems, When Winter Come: The Ascension of York, and Isaac Murphy: I Dedicate This Ride.

More info →

Order a print copy

Paperback · $12.4 ·
Pre-Order

Retail price: $15.50 · Save 20% ($12.4)

Cover of Black Box

Share    Facebook icon  Email icon

Requests

Review Copy

This book is not yet available for desk or examination copy requests. Please check back soon.

Permission to reprint
Permission to photocopy or include in a course pack via Copyright Clearance Center

Formats

Paperback
978-0-9675424-1-6
Retail price: $15.50, T.
Release date: July 2020
144 pages · 5¾ × 9¼ in.
Rights:  World

 

Sign up to be notified when new Poetry | American | African American titles come out.

We will only use your email address to notify you of new titles in the subject area(s) you follow. We will never share your information with third parties.