If you are looking to submit your manuscript for publication learn about our Guidelines for Submission.

Ohio University Press
31 S. Court St.
Suite 143
Athens, OH 45701-2979
(740) 593-4536 (fax)
@OhioUnivPress on Twitter
Ohio University Press on Facebook

Editorial

Gillian Berchowitz
Director and Editor-in-Chief
(740) 593-1159
berchowi@ohio.edu
Ricky S. Huard
Acquisitions Editor
(740) 593-1157
huard@ohio.edu
Sally R. Welch
Acquisitions and Permissions Administrator
(740) 593-1154
welchs@ohio.edu
Nancy Basmajian
Managing Editor
(740) 593-1161
basmajia@ohio.edu

Students interested in interning at our editorial department should read the Ohio University Press internship program guidelines.

Production

Beth Pratt
Production Manager
(740) 593-1162
prattb@ohio.edu

Marketing

Jeff Kallet
Sales Manager
(740) 593-1158
kallet@ohio.edu
Samara Rafert
Promotions and Exhibits Manager
(740) 593-1160
rafert@ohio.edu
Sebastian Biot
Marketing Systems and Design
biot@ohio.edu

Business

Omar Aziz
Business Manager
(740) 593-1156
azizo@ohio.edu
Sandra Dixon
Business Office Assistant
(740) 593 1155
dixons3@ohio.edu

Women in the Shadows
Gender, Puppets, and the Power of Tradition in Bali
Wayang kulit, or shadow puppetry, connects a mythic past to the present through public ritual performance and is one of most important performance traditions in Bali. The dalang, or puppeteer, is revered in Balinese society as a teacher and spiritual leader.


The Public and Its Problems
An Essay in Political Inquiry
More than six decades after John Dewey’s death, his political philosophy is undergoing a revival.


Modern Muslims
A Sudan Memoir
Steve Howard departed for the Sudan in the early 1980s as an American graduate student beginning a three-year journey in which he would join and live with the Republican Brotherhood, the Sufi Muslim group led by the visionary Mahmoud Mohamed Taha.


Alexander Robey Shepherd
The Man Who Built the Nation’s Capital
With Alexander Robey Shepherd, John P. Richardson gives us the first full-length biography of his subject, who as Washington, D.C.’s, public works czar (1871–74) built the infrastructure of the nation’s capital in a few frenetic years after the Civil War.


Paying Calls in Shangri-La
Scenes from a Woman’s Life in American Diplomacy
Judith M. Heimann entered the diplomatic life in 1958 to join her husband, John, in Jakarta, Indonesia, at his American Embassy post. This, her first time out of the United States, would set her on a path across the continents as she mastered the fine points of diplomatic culture.