If you are looking to submit your manuscript for publication learn about our Guidelines for Submission.

Ohio University Press
31 S. Court St.
Suite 143
Athens, OH 45701-2979
(740) 593-4536 (fax)
@OhioUnivPress on Twitter
Ohio University Press on Facebook

Editorial

Gillian Berchowitz
Director and Editor-in-Chief
(740) 593-1159
berchowi@ohio.edu
Ricky S. Huard
Acquisitions Editor
(740) 593-1157
huard@ohio.edu
Sally R. Welch
Acquisitions and Permissions Administrator
(740) 593-1154
welchs@ohio.edu
Nancy Basmajian
Managing Editor
(740) 593-1161
basmajia@ohio.edu

Students interested in interning at our editorial department should read the Ohio University Press internship program guidelines.

Production

Beth Pratt
Production Manager
(740) 593-1162
prattb@ohio.edu

Marketing

Jeff Kallet
Sales Manager
(740) 593-1158
kallet@ohio.edu
Samara Rafert
Promotions and Exhibits Manager
(740) 593-1160
rafert@ohio.edu
Sebastian Biot
Marketing Systems and Design
biot@ohio.edu

Business

Omar Aziz
Business Manager
(740) 593-1156
azizo@ohio.edu
Sandra Dixon
Business Office Assistant
(740) 593 1155
dixons3@ohio.edu

Citizenship, Belonging, and Political Community in Africa
Dialogues between Past and Present
Africa, it is often said, is suffering from a crisis of citizenship. At the heart of the contemporary debates this apparent crisis has provoked lie dynamic relations between the present and the past, between political theory and political practice, and between legal categories and lived experience.


When Grandma Gatewood Took a Hike
In 1955, sixty-seven-year-old Emma “Grandma” Gatewood became the first woman to solo hike the entire length of the Appalachian Trail in one through hike. Michelle Houts and Erica Magnus bring us the first children’s book about her feat and the unexpected challenges she encountered on the journey she initially called a “lark.”


Making the Mark
Gender, Identity, and Genital Cutting
Why do female genital cutting practices persist? How does circumcision affect the rights of girls in a culture where initiation forms the lynchpin of the ritual cycle at the core of defining gender, identity, and social and political status?


Crazy Quilts
A Beginner’s Guide
This definitive, meticulously illustrated how-to book is far more expansive than previous guides. Pillsbury—a master of the form—shows us why crazy quilting belongs firmly in the category of fine art and serves as an inspiring primer for beginners.


Winold Reiss and the Cincinnati Union Terminal
Fanfare for the Common Man
After designing and installing the massive murals for the Cincinnati Union Terminal in the 1930s, German immigrant artist Winold Reiss fell into relative obscurity, despite the vibrancy and boldness of his meticulous mosaic works.